Homemade Face and Body Scrub

I once heard a saying that beauty products that we use on our skin should be healthy enough to eat.

Why in the world would I want to eat my face scrub?! Well, not that you should, but I said that you can 😉 Many people think that’s unrealistic or just plain weird. Whatever your opinion is, that principle certainly is something to think about. Think about the products that you currently use on your skin. Are they safe enough to eat? Most likely the answer is no. Most beauty products are loaded with chemicals and preservatives. Many of us love the idea of more natural products, but the prices can be jaw-dropping. So for those who are interested in learning how to make your own beauty products at home, I will be sharing with you homemade recipes for a few beauty products.

Today we are going to start with a simple Homemade Face and Body Scrub from Delight Thyself. This recipe is made with four simple ingredients, is fairly inexpensive to make and you may already have some of the ingredients in your pantry.

** 2/12/2014 update- Delight Thyself website is no longer running. She may have moved to another site and I just don’t have her updated information, so unfortunately I had to take the link to her page down. However, I have created a recipe card to share her recipe. You can find that below.

It’s been 2 years since I first tried this homemade recipe and I still make and use this product today! I absolutely love it!** 

Photo Credit: Delight-Thyself

Sugar Scrub recipe card

The great thing about homemade products is that you can adjust the amounts that you use. For example, if you prefer less coconut oil (which I have found to be the case for me), then you can cut back on it or leave it out completely.

Just be sure that when you use this not to scrub the living daylights out of your skin- be gentle! And be sure to use some type of moisturizer after you have washed and dried your skin. Why? It’s my understanding that once you scrub, wash and dry your face, without some type of light moisturizer afterwards, your body will overproduce oils to help moisturize your skin. The alternative to store-bought moisturizers that I use is a little bit of olive oil on a cotton ball. A little bit of it goes a long way, so I literally only use about a dime-sized amount.

I hope this recipe helps to give you a good start on making your own beauty products at home. I will be adding more homemade beauty product recipes soon, so please be sure to check that out.

Blog signature

Share your thoughts with us!

