A Few Major Life Changes Underway and Goal Review {Post #1 in the “Taking Back My Health” series}

It’s hard to believe that tomorrow is already the start of February! It seems like just yesterday I was sitting down to map out my 2014 goals and now here I am looking back and reviewing them to see how I have been doing so far. How have you been doing on yours?

photo (13)
source: Twitter

I’m excited to share with you that the Lord is doing an amazing work in me and also in our family. And I say that simply to praise Him! The last couple months of this past year were very dark and lonely for me. I battled personal demons that, at one point, almost completely overtook me. I’m thankful that the Lord used my best friend as His tool to love and correct me. She was obedient to God’s instructions to her, although they were not easy: to go to the front lines of battle and bring me back.

This past month has truly been life-changing. I’ve set goals for myself in various areas and I have been blessed with the opportunity to focus on something that I have wanted to do for years (more info on that soon). While on hiatus from blogging, I have been praying about following God’s lead and waiting to hear exactly where He wants me to go from here with this site. And over the past couple of weeks, He has slowly revealed it to me. (Honestly, it’s a good thing that He slowly revealed it to me because if He dropped this doozy on me on Day 1, I probably would have laughed and told Him, “That’s super funny, but not realistic.”)

So, if you’re ready to join me on this adventure or just good ol’ fashioned curious about what in the world is going on in the Hill home, I’ll be sharing with you in small bites over the next few posts, so stick around! In today’s post, I’m going to share with you my 2014 goals. I chose to categorize my goals according to different areas in my life that I wanted to keep focused on. It’s a month into the year and I’ve taken time to review the ones that I wrote for myself… Are the goals realistic? Are they attainable? Are they specific? If you need a little help with figuring out a way to make solid goals for yourself, here is a post that I found extremely helpful in managing the goals that I have mapped out.

Marriage Goals
1. Commit to daily prayer over a specific area in my husband’s life. 
As the wife of an unbeliever, my godly role in this family is vital, and at times, challenging. Staying focused on God as the spiritual head of the home is the best place for me to be. He has shown me how to truly love and respect my husband in ways that I could not have done in my own strength. An excellent book that I highly recommend to help encourage you and give you thoughtful prayer points would be Stormie Omartian’s The Power of a Praying Wife.

2. Be intentional about quality time together.
Sounds simple enough, but with opposite schedules, sometimes a husband and wife can become two ships passing in the night. 

Parenting Goals
3. Prepare lessons in advance and focus more on Bible, learning activities, and reading. 

4. Serve in the community together once a month. 

Mommy Goals
5. Stay focused on time throughout the day. Be accountable for every moment. 
I stink at time management. I can sit down for a cup of coffee and next thing I know, it’s already lunch time and it only felt like 15 minutes passed by.

6. Devote myself to deeper, more intimate prayer time, with the desire to hear and know God, and to hear Him speak to me more, not just hear myself speaking to Him. 

7. Establish and stick to a solid workout routine, healthier food choices, an overall lifestyle change for the better.
This particular goal is really where the rest of my posts in this series, “Taking Back My Health,” will come from. Everything in the series stems from this point, where I decided to add it to my 2014 goals and commit to making it happen.

8. Read 25 books.
The first 5 books that I’ve put on my list are:
The Bondage Breaker (Neil T. Anderson)
The Love Dare
Feathers From My Nest (Beth Moore)
Called To Adoption (Mardie Caldwell)
A Heart Like His (Beth Moore)

Home Goals
9. Better system of organization when it comes to bills, meal planning, doctor appointments, etc.

10. Find a way to increase our income and work to cut down on our expenses.

So those are my goals for this year. I have kept some and the rest I need to be better about keeping track of as I go through the week. That’s the thing about goals- they need to be there, in front of our faces, not written down on a piece of paper and tucked away in our journal (eh hem hem!). Take the time to reevaluate them and maybe even change them later on, based on your level of productivity.

What about your personal goals? Where do you see yourself this year? If you haven’t set goals for yourself, it’s never too late to start right now. If you haven’t kept your goals, no problem- start today! You can do it!

Blog signature

Share your thoughts with us!

